This week pyschological thriller author Rona Halsall is interviewing her character Jack from her gripping debut novel , Keep You Safe, about the power of a mother’s love, and the lengths she will go to to protect her child.

 

Let’s find out a bit about the story first. Here’s the blurb

What if trying to protect your child only put them in danger?

Natalie is desperate to find her little boy. It has been more than three years since she saw Harry. Three long years in prison for a crime she knows she didn’t commit.

But her husband believed the police, and took their son.

Who has gone to such great lengths to destroy Natalie’s life? Everyone she once trusted – friends, family, all the people close to her – what secrets do they hide?

If Natalie finds the truth, will she get Harry back, or lose him forever?

A totally gripping psychological thriller – perfect for fans of Big Little Lies, The Girl on the Train and C.L. Taylor.

 

Readers are loving Keep You Safe:

Wow!!! Absolutely fabulous debut book by this author. The story gripped me from the start and didn’t let go until the last page… I highly recommend this amazing book.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

Get your hands on this book and start reading, I promise you’re not going to want to put it down’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

As a mother I can fully relate to the determination Natalie feels as she tries to get her son and her life back together… I was so engrossed I finished it in just two sittings… you can’t stop reading until you know the truth!’ Bookish Brunette

 

It sounds a terrific read, doesn’t it? Rona’s interview is with Jack, who plays a pivotal part in the story and we first meet him on the ferry, where he sits next to Natalie as she travels over to the Isle of Man in search of her four year old son. He’s a musician and was just returning home from Glastonbury.

Good morning Jack and thanks for coming along. I see you’ve brought your guitar with you.

Good morning, yes, well I didn’t know if I’d have to wait around and I’m practicing for a gig we’re doing tonight, so I thought, well, you know…

It would be lovely if you could play something. From what Natalie says, you have a soulful voice really pulls at the heartstrings.

Oh, I don’t know about that. But me and the band, we’ve been recording in our new studio, now that’s all set up and we’re hoping to have a CD out before Christmas.

That’s great news. Perhaps you could play us out?

It would be my pleasure. I’ll play you a bit of my favourite song on the album. It’s called Rosie, after my daughter.

Fantastic! Okay, so my first question is about music. I just wondered when you started to play?

Well it was my Grandad who got me started. He played the harmonica and he used to teach me and we’d play together. He was such a patient man. I really do miss him a lot. My Dad died when I was young, you see, a motorbike accident. And Grandad filled the gap. Then when I went to secondary school, my music teacher was a guitarist and he really encouraged me.

And how long has your band, Whiplash, been going?

Oh I would say about three years now. The line up’s changed a bit. It’s like that living on the Isle of Man you know, people tend to come and go when they’re young. Off to the UK to go to Uni then they come back later, when they’re ready to settle down.

Have you ever lived in the UK?

Oh yeah, I gave it a try. You know, when all my mates had gone off to Uni and were having a whale of a time, I got a bit restless. But I didn’t even last a year! It wasn’t for me. Honestly, I got so homesick it was ridiculous. Embarrassing really. Some people find it claustrophobic, on the island but I love it, it’s such a beautiful place and everyone’s so friendly. See, I like being part of a community, being involved. And in the end, I suppose that’s what led me to my choice of career, working with young people, trying to help them get their lives sorted out.

The other thing I wanted to ask you about is your love of motorbikes, which seems a little odd given that your dad died in a motorcycle accident.

I think it’s something that’s in the blood. Dad was a serious competitor and travelled all over the place. I suppose, given the nature of road racing there was always a strong chance that he might end up dead. But he loved it. He lived for it and I can understand. When you’re going really fast, like over a hundred, the feeling of freedom, the adrenaline rush, it’s well… it’s like you’re flying. I don’t know, it’s hard to describe. Living on the Isle of Man, the TT races and motorbike racing in general are a big part of our heritage.

And my last question, which you don’t have to answer if you think I’m being too nosy, but what was it about Natalie that attracted you to her, given that she thinks she looks a bit scary in an unwell sort of a way? 

Have you seen her? ‘Cos if you had you wouldn’t even be asking me that. She’s bloody gorgeous! Honestly, I know she was a bit on the skinny side when we met, but she’s got one of those faces that suits being thin, all high cheekbones and big hazel eyes. Then when we got chatting, she was funny. I like a girl who can make me laugh. So… I don’t know, there was just something vulnerable and mysterious and lovely about her that got me hooked. Yeah, that’s about it.

Well thanks you for talking to me Jack and let’s hear a bit of that song now.

If, like me, you can’t wait to read the book you can download it here:

 
Meet Rona

Bio:

Keep You Safe is Rona’s debut psychological thriller and her second novel will be out in November 2018. She has been a bookworm since she was a child and now she’s actually creating stories of her own, which still feels like a dream come true. Rona lives on the Isle of Man with her husband, two dogs and three guinea pigs. She is an outdoorsy person and loves stomping up a mountain, walking the coastal paths and exploring the wonderful glens and beaches on the Island while she’s plotting how to kill off her next victim. She has three children and two step-children who are now grown up and leading varied and interesting lives, which provides plenty of ideas for new stories!

To find out more about Rona’s novels, go to www.facebook.com/RonaHalsallAuthor or follow @RonaHalsallAuth on Twitter.

Contact links:
Thanks so much for dropping by to tell us about your book, Rona. Wishing you many sales!
————————————————————————————————————————————————————
Bring a little sunshine into your life with one of my sassy, feel good romances. From Amazon and other book stories. All books available in print too.