It’s ‘Share a Scene’ Thursday again and this week my guest is romcom author Emma Robinson. Emma is sharing a scene from her emotional feel-good novel, One Way Ticket to Paris. That cover makes me feel like hopping on a plane and going to Paris too!

Blurb

When I was a kid and I’d lost something, my dad always said ‘Go back to the place you last had it’. The problem is that what I’ve lost is… me.

Kate loves her family more than anything, but recently she has started to feel invisible. Lying awake at three a.m. as her husband snores, panicking about shopping lists, birthday parties, and the school bake sale…

She finds herself in the kitchen, gulping water, staring at a postcard of the Eiffel Tower from Shannon, her best friend.

Paris, with its red wine, slippery cobbles and curly lamp posts. Where the scent of freshly-baked croissants hangs in the air, and Kate last remembers feeling like herself.

The postcard is a year old. It has just one line on it: When are you coming?

An inspiring, feel-good tale of friendship, love, and what happens when running away is the only way you can find your way home. Perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Jane Green and Marian Keyes. 

Let’s read an extract from the book now:

Insomnia at three a.m. is not the ideal time to purchase an unplanned train ticket to Paris. Without telling your husband. Or having any clue who will look after your two children while you were away.

It was now 7.30 a.m. and Kate was in the bathroom, cleaning her teeth whilst undertaking covert surveillance on four-year-old Thomas doing a stand-up-wee-like-daddy. There weren’t enough bottles of bleach in the world to keep up with that boy. She spat toothpaste into the sink. ‘Thomas, please at least try to point your willy somewhere near the toilet.’

Luke shouted up the stairs. ‘Love, do you know where my car keys are?’

She gritted her newly-brushed teeth. Of course she knew where they were; she was the only person in this house who put things where they should actually be. ‘Look by the side of the kettle!’

Kate had woken at the usual three a.m. and, between her stowaway daughter’s determination to sleep like a star fish and her husband’s snoring, she hadn’t had a snowball in hell’s chance of going back to sleep. Then her brain had started its night-time cycle: shopping lists, upcoming birthday parties, school events, missed dentist appointments, things she’d forgotten, or might forget, or… Somehow, she’d wriggled caterpillar-like from under the duvet without waking either of them and had gone downstairs for a glass of water. Which is when she’d found Luke’s keys.

Alice wandered into the bathroom. ‘What do you think of my hair, Mummy?’

Kate’s six-year-old daughter was adorned with the entire contents of the box of hair accessories. ‘You look beautiful, darling, but I think it might be better to save that look for the weekend.’ Or a Boy George lookalike convention.

Alice flounced off to her bedroom and Kate turned her attention back to the boy child. ‘Pants up, Tom-Tom. Let’s give those hands a good scrub.’

The glass of water hadn’t really cut it last night, so she’d stepped it up to a cup of camomile tea. So rock and roll. The keys had been by the side of the kettle on top of the Eiffel Tower postcard. When they’d bought the house in Kent, Luke had waxed lyrical about the fact they would be so close to the Eurostar station at Ebbsfleet. But they hadn’t been to Paris since their honeymoon. Moving the keys, Kate had flipped the postcard over to reread the familiar handwriting: When are you coming?

Well, who is inviting Kate to Paris? If you want to find out you can get the book here:

Buy One Way Ticket to Paris: http://geni.us/B07H991759Cover

Here’s what some readers are saying about ‘One Way Ticket to Paris’:

‘I absolutely adored this book… fantastically funny and heartbreakingly sad… a true feel-good rom-com.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

I just loved this book, it was a truly heartfelt and honest story that warmed my heart. I devoured it in one sitting… a perfect read and one not to be missed. I love this book and everything it stands for and couldn’t recommend it highly enough.’ Stacy is Reading, 5 stars

Funny, emotive, romantic and ultimately heartwarming… I was hooked on the story… I just couldn’t stop reading… Seriously fantastic’ Ginger Book Geek, 5 stars

Meet Emma

Author bio

Emma Robinson thinks of herself as one of the ‘Bridget Jones generation’ – who are now grown up and having children – and writes novels for women who feel the same.

She also has a blog, Motherhood for Slackers, which takes a humorous look at parenthood, and includes poems such as ‘Dear Teacher’ about her son starting school which has been shared around the world. Emma is an English teacher and lives in Essex with a patient husband and two children who are an endless source of material.

Website: www.motherhoodforslackers.com
Facebook: facebook.com/motherhoodforslackers
Twitter: @emmarobinsonuk
Instagram: emmarobinsonuk

Thanks for dropping by to tell us about your book, Emma. I hope it flies off the shelves!


Bring a little sunshine into your life with one of my feel-good romances, all set in glorious locations.Check out my Amazon Author Page for details.