I’m delighted to interview best-selling author Sue Moorcroft on my blog today. I’m a big fan of Sue’s books so it’s a pleasure to host her. Welcome, Sue, can you tell us a bit about where you live?

I live in Northamptonshire on the edge of a market town. I can see farm fields from some of my windows but there’s a big retail park between them and me. There’s a lot of farmland in the county and it’s right in the middle of England so well served with road and rail links.

Do you like to travel? What is your favourite means of travel?
I love to travel – as long as it’s the safe kind. I’d feel a lot less enthusiastic about backpacking through a war zone. I love to fly, I like trains and cars, but I’m a poor sailor so have never bothered with a cruise. A cross-channel ferry journey is the longest sea journey I’ve attempted.

What countries have you visited or lived in?
I was born in Germany as I’m from an army family. We moved on to Cyprus and Malta but came back to the UK for good when I was eight and a half. I’ve returned to Germany and manage to visit Malta most years but have never made it back to Cyprus, maybe because I don’t remember it. I’ve also visited Spain, France, Belgium, Holland, Italy, Japan, America, Austria, Dubai and, if you count stopping to change planes or refuel, Africa and Russia.

What country/place has made the most impact on you? Why?
Malta! I lived there for nearly five years of my childhood and still think of it as a second home. I’ve set books, short stories and serials there and so have read a lot of the history of the island, too.

I loved your book, The Wedding Proposal, which was set in Malta. The scenery in the book was breath-taking.

Malta

Have you featured any of the countries/places you’ve visited in your novels? Tell us a little about them?
As mentioned, Malta has appeared quite a few times. I’ve also sent my characters to America and France and my hero and heroine in my WIP are in Italy. My current book, Just for the Holidays, takes place in Alsace, the north-eastern region of France. I visited a friend there and she was so kind as to take me around the Strasbourg area, translate my questions at a hospital and introduce me to a French lady who is a native Alsatian and helped me a lot. We also thoroughly tested the local cuisine and wine! It’s a beautiful region and I can thoroughly recommend it.

Strasbourg

 

Has any country/place you’ve visited ever given you inspiration for a story?
Definitely! For the past five years I’ve visited Umbria in Italy to run courses or retreats for Arte Umbria and enjoyed chatting to various visiting chefs and kitchen porters about their adventures. The back of the property has now become the rear aspect of Casa Felice, the hotel in my Summer 2018 book, which I’m currently writing. Casa Felice is set in the town of Monteliberatà in a bowl between several peaks and looking out over beautiful foothills.

Sue working on a terrace when in Italy

How do you do your research? Do you use google or actually visit the place?
For a novel I always visit. There’s so much more to discover than just what a place looks like or what tourists should see. It’s the smells, the insect life, the sound of the language, the transport systems and a thousand other details.
I have written short stories set in places I haven’t visited and then online research has been enough.

Is there any country/place you would love to write about but haven’t visited yet?
Wow, there must be dozens! I’ll go for Australia because I’ve always wanted to go there.

What’s the funniest thing that’s ever happened to you while travelling?
Searching for petrol on a camping trip in France we were eventually helped by three men who came out of a village wedding. They were so sweet and charming – but so tipsy! I struggled to converse with them with my totally rubbish French and then one of them confessed he spoke English but had found my ‘Franglais’ so funny that he hadn’t spoken up earlier.

What’s the most unusual thing you’ve ever seen/done while travelling?
I went to see Sumo wrestling in Tokyo. That holiday in Japan was fabulous.

Author Bio
Best-selling author Sue Moorcroft writes contemporary fiction with occasionally unexpected themes. The Christmas Promise rose to #1 in the Amazon Kindle chart; The Wedding Proposal, Dream a Little Dream and Is this Love? were all nominated for Readers’ Best Romantic Read Awards and Darcie’s Dilemma for Readers’ Best Short Romance. Love & Freedom won the Best Romantic Read Award 2011 and Dream a Little Dream was nominated for a RoNA in 2013. Sue’s a Katie Fforde Bursary Award winner, a past vice chair of the RNA and editor of its two anthologies.
Sue also writes short stories, serials, articles and writing ‘how to’.
Sue’s new book: Just for the Holidays

Blurb

‘Effortlessly engaging…a magical must!’ Heat
The #1 bestselling author returns for summer! Grab your sun hat, a cool glass of wine, and the only book you need on holiday…
In theory, nothing could be better than a summer spent basking in the French sun. That is, until you add in three teenagers, two love interests, one divorcing couple, and a very unexpected pregnancy.
Admittedly, this isn’t exactly the relaxing holiday Leah Beaumont was hoping for – but it’s the one she’s got. With her sister Michele’s family falling apart at the seams, it’s up to Leah to pick up the pieces and try to hold them all together.
But with a handsome helicopter pilot staying next door, Leah can’t help but think she might have a few distractions of her own to deal with…

A glorious summer read, for you to devour in one sitting – perfect for fans of Katie Fforde, Carole Matthews and Trisha Ashley.

Available from Amazon and other book stores.

Author Links

Discover more at www.suemoorcroft.com or connect with her on social media.
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/sue.moorcroft.3
Facebook author page: https://www.facebook.com/SueMoorcroftAuthor
Twitter @suemoorcroft
Google+: google.com/+Suemoorcroftauthor
LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/suemoorcroft
Instagram: suemoorcroftauthor

Thanks so much for talking to us about your travels, Sue!


Bring a little sunshine into your life with the sassy, feel good romances.

Available from Amazon and other book stores