Continuing with my selection of Christmas books to gift – or read yourself – today I’m featuring the wonderfully festive, A Christmas Wish and a Cranberry Kiss at the Cosy Kettle by Liz Eeles. First let’s find out a bit about the book then read on to discover how Liz spends Christmas.

Blurb

Fans of Milly Johnson and Phillipa Ashley, the Cosy Kettle café is waiting for you to find a comfy spot by the fire and snuggle up with a steaming mug of hot chocolate. Amidst the twinkling lights and falling snowflakes, Becca has a wish to make this Christmas…

Running from heartbreak, twenty-five-year-old Becca has moved to the cosy village of Honeyford. Living with her best friend Zac in a little stone cottage, and serving mince pies and steaming gingerbread lattes at the Cosy Kettle, is the perfect escape from her past.

But starting over isn’t always plain sailing, and Becca’s shyness is holding her back from making her mark on the café. To make matters worse, her crush on blond-haired, blue-eyed local heartthrob Logan gets stronger by the day – but he can barely remember her name. So as the snow starts to fall in Honeyford, Becca has one big Christmas wish: to completely reinvent herself. Becca dreams of bringing the Cosy Kettle success and finding romance with Logan under the mistletoe.

As she gets a makeover, cosies up to Logan over mulled wine and plans the most festive celebration the café has ever seen, Becca wonders why she waited so long to step out of her comfort zone… Zac, on the other hand, thought she was perfect before – always caring for others – and he misses the quirky girl with the bright blue hair.

When Logan turns out to not be all he seems, Becca is left wondering if he’s really the one for her. With her party plans also going awry, can Becca save her beloved Cosy Kettle in time for Christmas? And has the key to her happiness been in front of her all along?

Buy links:

Amazon: https://geni.us/B07W9913G7Social  

Apple Books: https://apple.co/2TnuugP  

Kobo: http://bit.ly/2KFQIGP  

Googleplay: http://bit.ly/2YJavin  

Hi Liz, thanks so much for dropping by to talk to us today. Can you tell us how you chose the setting of A Christmas Wish and a Cranberry Kiss at the Cosy Kettle?

A Christmas Wish, like the other two standalone books in my Cosy Kettle series, is set in a place that feels like home – the Cotswolds. I live in Sussex now, but I grew up in Gloucestershire and love the area’s rolling hills and picturesque yellow-stone villages that seem frozen in time. My story unfolds in the fictitious village of Honeyford and I can picture its ancient cottages blanketed in snow, with twinkling fairy lights strung between the Victorian lampposts. 

It sounds beautiful. Where did you get your inspiration for your festive story?

My kids reckon I can be rather ‘stressy’ at times and, in a way, that was the inspiration behind my new book. In the novel, Becca, who manages a cosy village café, makes a Christmas wish to completely reinvent herself. She wants to shake off her shyness, bag a date with the local heartthrob, and throw the best party the café has ever seen. Simple? Of course not – and Becca soon learns to be careful what you wish for. I loved writing about a character who struggles with anxiety and, although the book is fun and light-hearted, I hope it will strike a chord with those of us who sometimes find life challenging.

I’m sure it will! How do you do your research?

Nothing beats visiting where my novels are set, to immerse myself in local sights and sounds that can add detail to my stories. This involves research trips to the area, though my husband refers to them as ‘holidays’. We went to Cornwall for my first series of books, which are set there on the south coast, and more recently to the Cotswolds. I’m considering setting my next series in the Maldives.

What’s the best part of Christmas for you?

You can’t beat Christmas Eve with its anticipation of what’s still to come. This Christmas Eve, I’ll be belting out festive tunes at a local carol service before heading for home to sit in front of our (artificial) tree and watch Christmas telly. We used to have a real tree but artificial avoids the annual argument over whether the tree is standing straight, along with the pain of treading on pine needles.

I know exactly what you mean. And how will you spend Christmas Day?

The whole day will be fairly quiet and relaxed. My husband and I will cook for the family and, once we’ve done a marathon wash-up, we’ll blow away the cobwebs with a walk along the beach. After growing up miles from the ocean, it’s a real treat to walk by the sea on Christmas Day. I’m hoping Santa will bring me lots of books – fingers crossed – so I’ll make sure I have some reading time too.

I hope he does, too, Liz. Books make the best presents.

About Liz

Author Bio:

Liz writes funny, feel-good romantic comedies set in the Cotswolds and Cornwall.  She worked as a journalist for years and brought up a family on the south coast, all the while writing fiction on the quiet. After being short-listed in a couple of national novel-writing competitions, her dream of being a published author came true when she was signed by Bookouture.  When she’s not writing, Liz likes walking by the sea, catching up with friends and binge-watching box sets.

Contact links:

Twitter: @lizeelesauthor

Facebook: lizeelesauthor

Instagram: lizeelesauthor

Website: www.lizeeles.com 


Snow is falling, bells are ringing… and my heart is broken. I pick up the phone to tell my mother about Oliver and me. Then right after I explain, she says, ‘I don’t exactly know how to tell you this, but you’re not the only one who is single again.’

Download here to read all about Meg and her mother, Sally’s, singleton Christmas in Cornwall.